Preparing for Taiwan

I started to unpack from my trip to DC only to realize I’ll be packing again before I know it! I’m so excited to go to Taiwan. When I applied to be a part of Phx sister cities it seemed like a long shot, I had never traveled out of the country before, though I had always wanted to. Part of the reason I had never traveled was because I had a cecostomy tube. Having a cecostomy tube was painful and the medical treatment was inconvenient taking an upward of an hour. My family and I knew if I was selected to go I would need to have another surgery. We meet with a surgeon and they presented the options for surgery, ileostomy or colon ectomy. I took time to think of which surgery I wanted, knowing that they were both semi-permanent surgeries. I was unsure of how I could travel with an ileostomy until one day I found a blog describing a woman’s travel around the world posting pictures of herself at famous monuments with her bag. I subscribed and read as much as I could. I realized through reading the blog that she wasn’t the only one traveling with an ostomy and that was the biggest relief of all was finding so many other people who traveled with one as well. I decided to have an ileostomy surgery and I couldn’t be happier. Traveling through the airport to go to DC was a breeze and I found myself being able to do more than ever before.

Leave a Reply

